City Secretary's Office
The City Secretary is appointed by the City Council and keeps all the public records of the town including ordinances, resolutions, and City Council meeting minutes. The city secretary also serves as the town election administrator.
The City Secretary is the primary resource from which a citizen can obtain information classified as “open” under the Open Records Act. Whenever a citizen needs to know about an ordinance or other concerns before the City Council, the information is easily accessible through this office. Copies of ordinances, City Council minutes and all other open information are available via an Open Records Request.
Open Record Request Form
The Driver Responsibility Program (DRP) establishes a system that authorizes the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to assess surcharges to an individual based on certain traffic offenses. This program was developed to encourage safe driving habits. These surcharges are assessed in two ways, a point system and conviction based.
Visit the link below for the Texas DPS Driver responsibility Surcharge Program which will have information about surcharges & points assessed to your driver’s license.
NOTICE: The Driver Responsibility Program has been repealed. Effective September 1, 2019, all DRP surcharge suspensions will end. To view FAQs about DRP surcharges, click on the link below.
Court appearances are being held in-person at 9830 Confederate Park Road.
- July 18, 2022 at 3:30 p.m. Plea Docket
- July 18, 2022 at 5:00 p.m. Plea Docket
- July 18, 2022 at 5:00 p.m. Pre-Trial Docket
- July 20, 2022 at 9:00 a.m. Jury Trial
- July 26, 2022 at 5:00 p.m. Show Cause Docket
- August 3, 2022 at 9:00 a.m. Jury Trial
The Attorney plea dockets are held on ZOOM:
You must request a court date to be placed on the plea docket. You may request the court date in person between the hours of 7:30-4:30, Monday-Friday. You have 20 days to take care of your citation from the day that you receive the citation.
The following are the dates for our plea dockets that start at 3:30 p.m.:
● October 12, 2021
● February 14, 2022
● June 6, 2022
● November 9, 2021
● March 21, 2022
● July 18, 2022
● December 14, 2021
● April 18, 2022
● August 15, 2022
● January 10, 2022
● May 16, 2022
● September 19, 2022
Please use the following link for Citation Payments. If you have already been approved for a payment plan then you will need to edit the amount and enter the amount that you will be paying as agreed in your payment plan.
Alternatives to Full Payment of Fine or Cost
If you have been assessed a fine and court cost due to a citation and you are unable to pay: You are required to notify the court immediately. If you are determined by the court to have insufficient resources or income to pay, the court is allowed to provide you other ways to discharge the fine and costs. For an alternative to pay you will need to schedule a court date. A court date cannot be scheduled over the phone, you will need to come into our office in person during normal business hours. Our hours are 7:30 to 4:30, Monday-Friday.
Click the link below to request deferred disposition. PLEASE ALLOW 3 business days for the court to process your Deferred request. You will receive a email from the Court once the deferred has been approved with the amount that you need to pay. You will need to also check your spam/junk email. It is your responsibility to check with the court if you do not receive a response back in three business days. There is a nominal fee that you will pay when applying for the deferred online.
- You must obtain approval from the court before taking the course.
- If you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you are not eligible to take a defensive driving course.
- If you are charged with a traffic offense written under the subtitle C, Texas Transportation Code, you may request the defensive driving course with the court clerk prior to your original court date or by appearing in court and requesting it from the Judge.
- You must be able to provide a valid Texas Driver’s License that is not a CDL
- You must be able to provide proof of current liability insurance with your name on the policy
- You will have to pay the Administrative fee and State fee of $144.00.
You are eligible to request this course if you:
- Have not requested and taken a driving safety course for a traffic offense within the past 12 months.
- Are not currently taking the course for another traffic violation.
- Did not commit one of the following offenses:
- Speeding 25 mph or more over the speed limit in a regular zone
- Speeding in a Construction Zone with Workers Present
- Failure to Give Information at the Scene of an Accident
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident
- Fleeing or Attempting to Elude a Police Officer
- Reckless Driving
- Passing a School Bus
You will have 90 days from the date of the request to complete and return a certificate of completion and a copy of your certified driving record to the Court office. Your driving record may be obtained from the Texas Department of Public Safety. If you do not return both the certificate of completion and driving record to the Court within the 90 days, you will be required to appear before the Municipal Court Judge to show cause why you failed to show proof of completion. Your failure to appear at the hearing may result in a warrant being issued for your arrest.
Defensive Driving Application - Defensive Driving Request & Affidavit
Driving Record Application- Certified Driving Record Form
You may submit your request for your certified driving record online at https://www.dps.texas.gov/driverlicense/driverrecords.htm and select type 3A (The fee for online is $12.00 or you can mail the request and the fee is $10.00)
You may email your defensive driving application to us. Please allow one business day for processing your request. You will receive an email once it has been approved and detailed instructions on how to pay the $144.00 online. It is your responsibility to contact the court if you do not receive a email back. Sometimes the email will go to your spam/junk folder.
Email the following to firstname.lastname@example.org to request defensive driving:
The completed defensive driving application & affidavit (On page 1 you will need to circle a plea of guilty or no contest in the first paragraph)
- A copy of your valid Texas driver’s license that is not a CDL
- Proof of liability insurance that has your name listed on the policy
Permits & Inspections
Please click on the link below to pay for your building or trade permit. You must have already submitted the permit application to our office before you can pay online. We will need the following before you can pay online:
We will call you with a permit number once everything is processed. You can make your online payment once you receive the permit number. We will receive any payment that is entered before midnight the next business day.
Need to make a Building & Trade Permits Online Payment?
Development Process for Platts:
You might be required to plat, re-replat or rezone a property before you may develop it. This would depend on the current status of the property.
Zoning determines what land uses can be legally placed on the property. There is several steps that are involved for rezoning a property. The zoning process can take about 8-10 weeks. Failure to meet submittal deadlines or incomplete submittals can significantly increase the amount of time required to complete the zoning change process
A property that is undeveloped may need to be platted before it can be divided or sold. Both the preliminary and final plat stages of the platting process involve several steps and generally take 6-8 weeks each. Property that has been previously platted may have the property lines redrawn or amended through a re-plat. The re-platting process involves several steps and may generally be completed in about 8-10 weeks.
1) Complete all parts of the Building Permit Application Form.
2) Turn in the Building Permit Application Form along with all of the required forms listed on the Building Permit Application Form under Submittal Requirements.
3) Upon receipt of all of the required paperwork, the application will be reviewed by the Building Official. The Building Official will check for compliance with the Town of Lakeside codes.
4) After the Building Official approves the application, staff will contact the applicant to pick up the permit.
5) Payment of permit fees are due at the time the permit is issued.
6) The Building Permit is issued.
- Electrical Application
Board of Adjustment Variance Application
Certificate of Occupancy & Business License
Home Based Business Application
New Construction-Commercial Application
RV Building Application
Sign Permit Application
Specific Use Permit Application
Swimming Pool Permit Application
Trade Permit Application (Plumbing & Mechanical)
Water Well Application
The Fee Schedule for Permits can be viewed by following the link below. Please call (817) 237-1234, ext. 307 for any questions regarding the fee schedule, permits or inspections.
The Town of Lakeside has a contract with Countywide Inspection Services. Call 1-940-521-0470 to schedule an inspection. Anything called in before 5:00 PM will be made the next business day. You will need to be able to provide the job address, the type of inspection needed, the property owner/contact name and preferred telephone number for the property owner/contact.
All General Contractors, Electricians, Plumbers and HVAC Installers must show proof of their trade license and insurance coverage to the Town of Lakeside prior to obtaining a permit. Licenses must be current.
(817) 237-1224 PRESS 0.
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM Monday thru Friday (817) 237-1234 ext. 302.
To contact officer on duty while out on Patrol or after hours, call Police Dispatch:
(817) 237-1224 PRESS 0.
Non-Emergency Telephone Number:
(817) 237-1234 ext. 302
Email Chief Carpenter:
It is our duty to provide a safe community where our citizens can live, work and play. We work closely with our citizens to identify their concerns and to respond to neighborhood public safety issues that affect their quality of life. We treat every person we come in contact with as a “customer” worthy of our very best.
We maintain a high standard of commitment and dedication to our community by utilizing problem oriented policing to identify and address community issues while seeking long term solutions to deter crime and disorder. We will research and apply the best policing practices to improve our service delivery wherever and whenever possible.
Lakeside Police Department
What is a House Watch?
A House Watch is a request to the Police Department to make additional checks on your residence. This can be for a variety of reasons such as a vacation or business trip. If you are interested in a House Watch, click the above link for a House Watch Form or come by Town Hall to pick up. Your house will receive a little “extra attention” while you’re away.
House Watch Form
Tips for while you are away:
Mail/Newspaper: It is always a good idea to contact the Post Office and Newspaper and have them put your services on hold. Or, you may want to have your mail and paper collected by a neighbor or friend. This prevents a build up in front of your house, indicating that nobody has been home for quite a while. Many burglars travel around and target houses with excessive accumulations such as these.
Lights: There are many low cost light timers available on the market. These timers will automatically turn your interior lights on and off at set times, giving the appearance that somebody is home.
Alarms: If you have a residential alarm, make sure it is armed and working properly. It is always a good idea to give the code to a trusted friend or neighbor in case the system malfunctions while you’re away.
Interested in joining our Police Force? Download and complete Personal History Statement:
Water Customer Service
Hours of Operation: Monday – Friday 7:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Phone: (817) 237-1234 ext. 307
Fax: (817) 238-9187
After hour water emergencies or outages: (817) 237-1224 PRESS 0.
Notice of Customer’s Right to Request Disclosure
Pursuant to section 182.052 of the Texas Utilities Code and section 552.1331 of the Texas Government Code, with certain exceptions the Town of Lakeside may not disclose personal information in a customer’s utility account record, or any information relating to the volume or units of utility usage or the amounts billed to or collected from the individual for utility usage, unless the customer requests that the Town disclose the information. In order to request disclosure of any such information, you may complete the form below and return it by email to email@example.com or by mail to Town of Lakeside, 9834 Confederate Park Road, Lakeside, Texas 76108. You may rescind any such request by providing written notice to the Town.
Click below if you want to fill out the form. You may email or mail back to us.
Bank draft to pay water bills is available. Accounts are drafted on the 10th of the month. Click the link below to print the form or pick a form up at Town Hall. The form must be mailed or brought in to Town Hall completely filled out with a voided check from the account you want your payment to be drafted from.
We are pleased to offer e-billing for your utility bill. You can receive your bill by email instead of it being mailed to you. At this time the newsletter cannot be attached to the e-bill. However, you can view the newsletter online at www.lakesidetexas.us. You can find the newsletter under “My Lakeside”.
Please fill out the attached application go get started with e-billing. You can email the completed form to firstname.lastname@example.org or drop off at City Hall. If you have any questions, please feel free to call Diane Chambers at (817) 237-1234, ext. 301.
The Town of Lakeside has contracted with Official Payments to accept online payments for water bills. By clicking on the following link, you understand that you are being directed to the website of Official Payments.
Rates & Fees
Residential Inside the City Limits:
Residential Outside of the City Limits:
$1,750.00 plus meter deposit
During business hours:
In City $30; Outside City $40
In City $75; Outside City $95
Minimum/Base Rate ¾ inch meter:
Inside City Limits: $53.73
Outside City Limits: $62.41
Minimum/Base Rate 1 inch meter:
Inside City Limits: $96.00
Outside City Limits: $112.34
Minimum/Base Rate 2 inch meter:
Inside City Limits: $292.85
Outside City Limits: $342.62
276-1,337 cubic feet
(1st Tier-this includes 1062 cuft):
Inside City Limits: $2.87
Outside City Limits: $3.15
1,338-2,674 cubic feet
(2nd Tier-this includes 1337 cuft):
Inside City Limits: $3.74
Outside City Limits: $4.00
2,675-4,010 cubic feet
(3rd Tier-this includes 1336 cuft):
Inside City Limits: $4.60
Outside City Limits: $4.86
Inside City Limits: $5.47
Outside City Limits: $5.73
Billing where more than one user is tied to the same meter. For ¾ inch meters it is the base rate times X where X is the number of users plus volume charges. For meters larger than a ¾ meter, it is the ¾ base rate times X where X is the number of users plus volume charges or the actual meter size base rate plus volume charges whichever is greater.
*WATER RATES MAY CHANGE DURING DECLARED DROUGHT EMERGENCIES IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE DROUGHT CONTINGENCY PLAN OF THE TOWN.
The following is three different customer’s examples of how to figure water bills:
1.) Customer uses 1042 cuft who resides outside the Town limits. You will take the 1042 cuft and subtract 275 cuft and this will give you 767 cuft left over. This customer will use the base rate and the 1st tier.
0-275 cuft (Base Rate) $62.41
767 cuft x $3.15 (1st Tier) $24.16
Total for Water Usage: $86.57
2.) Customer uses 3,907 cuft who resides inside the Town limits. You will take the 3097 cuft and subtract the 275 cuft, 1062 cuft, 1337 cuft and this will give you 1233 cuft left over. This customer will use the base rate, all of the first, second tier and 1233 in the third tier.
0-275 cuft (Base Rate) $53.73
1062 cuft x $2.87 (1st Tier) $30.48
1337 cuft x $3.74 (2nd Tier) $50.00
1233 cuft x $4.60 (3rd Tier) $56.72
Total for Water Usage: $190.93
3.) Customer uses 20,821 cuft who resides inside the Town limits. You will take the 20,821 cuft and subtract the 275 cuft, 1062 cuft, 1337 cuft, 1336 cuft and this will give you 16,811 cuft left over. This customer will use the base rate, all of the first, second, third tier and 16,811 cuft in the last tier.
0-275 cuft (Base Rate) $53.73
1062 cuft x $2.87 (1st Tier) $30.48
1337 cuft x $3.74 (2nd Tier) $50.00
1336 cuft x $4.60 (3rd Tier) $61.45
16,811 cuft x $5.47 (4th Tier) $919.57
Total for Water Usage: $1,115.23
Sewer Meter Deposit
Base Rate (minimum monthly service charge):
$52.35 (effective 10/2/2013)
Monthly Service Charge:
$1.96 per 100 cubic foot plus base rate
(Averaged each year using December, January, and February)
- 2021 Consumer Confidence Report
- 2020 Consumer Confidence Report
- 2019 Consumer Confidence Report
- 2018 Consumer Confidence Report
- 2017 Consumer Confidence Report
- 2016 Consumer Confidence Report
- 2015 Consumer Confidence Report
- 2014 Consumer Confidence Report
- 2013 Consumer Confidence Report
- 2012 Consumer Confidence Report
- 2011 Consumer Confidence Report
Garbage service is added to your water bill if you live in the city limits of Lakeside.